Utah picked 2nd, TCU 1st in Mountain West

The defending conference champion TCU Horned Frogs were picked by an overwhelming margin to repeat as conference champions, while the media pegged the Utes as second and BYU third. 

Air Force, who has finished fourth the last two years, was once again picked at that spot. Wyoming, the Mountain West's other bowl team from a year ago, came in fifth, while upstart San Diego State is projected to finish sixth. Colorado State, UNLV and New Mexico round out the bottom. 

While the Frogs are a no-brainer at the top, they will have to travel to Salt Lake City later in the season. That game could decide who wins the Mountain West championship and certainly one the Utes will have circled after last year's embarrassing debacle in Fort Worth. 

Beyond just preseason conference poll, TCU swept the preseason Player of the Year awards - with Andy Dalton being named Offensive Player of the Year, Tank Carder Defensive Player of the Year and Jeremy Kerley Special Teams Player of the Year.

Surely the Frogs have the goods to establish the most dominant team in Mountain West history. After the jump you can see the entire 2010 Preseason All-Mountain West Football Team. Four Utes (three on offense, one on defense) make the list. Second most behind TCU's six.

2010 Preseason All-Mountain West Football Team
QB Andy Dalton#* Sr. TCU
WR Vincent Brown** Sr. San Diego State
WR Phillip Payne Jr. UNLV
RB Eddie Wide* Sr. Utah
RB Jared Tew** Sr. Air Force
OL Matt Reynolds#* Jr. BYU
OL Jake Kirkpatrick** Sr. TCU
OL Caleb Schlauderaff** Sr. Utah
OL Marcus Cannon* Sr. TCU
OL Zane Taylor** Sr. Utah
TE Alston Umuolo Sr. San Diego State
DL Johnathan Rainey** Jr. New Mexico
DL Wayne Daniels** Sr. TCU
DL Cory Grant** Sr. TCU
LB Carmen Messina* Jr. New Mexico
LB Tank Carder** Jr. TCU
LB Brian Hendricks** Jr. Wyoming
LB Mychal Sisson** Jr. Colorado State
DB Brandon Burton Jr. Utah
DB Reggie Rembert* Sr. Air Force
DB Anthony Wright** Jr. Air Force
DB Andrew Rich** Sr. BYU
DB Chris Prosinski** Sr. Wyoming
Note: Five defensive backs were selected due to a tie in the voting.
P Brian Stahovich** Jr. San Diego State
PK Ross Evans* Jr. TCU
Ret. Jeremy Kerley#* Sr. TCU
Offensive Player of the Year:
Andy Dalton, Sr., QB, TCU
Defensive Player of the Year:
Tank Carder, Jr., LB, TCU
Special Teams Player of the Year:
Jeremy Kerley, Sr., KR/PR TCU
# - unanimous 2010 preseason selection. 
* - member of the 2009 All-Mountain West Conference first-team. 
** - member of the 2009 All-Mountain West Conference second-team.

In This Article

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Block U

You must be a member of Block U to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Block U. You should read them.

Join Block U

You must be a member of Block U to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Block U. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.