clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Utes #17 in College Football Playoff Top 25

The Utes are one spot higher in the CFP Top 25 than the other polls.

Russ Isabella-USA TODAY Sports

It's a new era in major college football. Gone is the BCS, and in is the College Football Playoff (CFP). Now selected by a committee of former coaches, athletic directors, and even politicians like Condoleeza Rice - the CFP committee ranks their own top 25. The committee takes into consideration for their rankings: strength of schedule, conference championships, head-to-head matchups, and much more. The national championship is now determined by a "Final Four," which is something we've all been wanting for a long time. The top four teams in the CFP poll at the end of the season play in the semifinal games that will be held in the Rose and Sugar Bowl, this season. The semifinal games will rotate each year, and the national title game will be bid out, like the Super Bowl; this season the title game is in Cowboys Stadium.

Today, the inaugural CFP Poll was released, and our Utes are in that poll. One spot higher than the AP or Coaches Poll, the Utes check in at No. 17, right behind our old pal Urban Meyer. Utah will be taking on Arizona State this Saturday, who checks in at No. 14.

If Utah continues on the track they're on, who knows what may happen. But for the first time, it appears we'll have a championship determined on the field... and not by computers.

Rank Team Conference Toughest opponent left (per F/+) If the season ended today ...
1 Mississippi State SEC Ole Miss Sugar Bowl vs. Ole Miss
2 Florida State ACC Louisville Rose Bowl vs. Auburn
3 Auburn SEC Ole Miss Rose Bowl vs. Florida State
4 Ole Miss SEC Auburn Sugar Bowl vs. Mississippi State
5 Oregon Pac-12 Stanford New Year's bowl
6 Alabama SEC Auburn Orange Bowl*
7 TCU Big 12 Kansas State New Year's bowl
8 Michigan State Big Ten Ohio State New Year's bowl
9 Kansas State Big 12 TCU New Year's bowl
10 Notre Dame Independent Louisville New Year's bowl
11 Georgia SEC Auburn
12 Arizona Pac-12 Arizona State
13 Baylor Big 12 Oklahoma
14 Arizona State Pac-12 Notre Dame
15 Nebraska Big Ten Wisconsin
16 Ohio State Big Ten Michigan State
17 Utah Pac-12 Oregon
18 Oklahoma Big 12 Baylor
19 LSU SEC Alabama
20 West Virginia Big 12 TCU
21 Clemson ACC Georgia Tech Orange Bowl*
22 UCLA Pac-12 Stanford
23 East Carolina UCF New Year's bowl*
24 Duke ACC Virginia Tech
25 Louisville ACC Florida State