clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nate Orchard Wins Morris Trophy

Another award for the outstanding defensive end from Utah.

Robert Hanashiro-USA TODAY Sports

Defensive end Nate Orchard has been named the winner of the Morris Trophy, given to the most outstanding defensive linemen in the Pac-12 Conference. The great thing about the Morris Trophy is that the conference's starting offensive linemen vote for the defensive winner. There is also an offensive equivalent of the award as well, which was awarded to Stanford offensive tackle Andrus Peat.

Orchard is the 2nd player from Utah to win the award, Star Lotulelei won the award back in 2011. This award is just another in an impressive line that Orchard has accumulated thus far. He has been named to six All-America teams, including first-team Walter Camp and second-team Associated Press. Orchard also won the Ted Hendricks Award as the nation's top defensive end, just a week ago, and was a first-team All-Pac-12 selection.

Needless to say, Nate Orchard had one heck of a senior season, and has put himself on the radar for many NFL teams.