clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Connor Cain Wins Pac-12 Freshman Diver of the Year

Utah freshman diver, Connor Cain, became the first Utah diver to win a major Pac-12 award when he was named the Pac-12 Freshman Diver of the Year earlier today.

Cain is a freshman from Clovis, California, where he was a four year letter winner at Buchannan High School. He was league and section champion and finished third in the state of California his senior year.

His freshman year at Utah has been a success as Cain represents a bright future for a program continuing its transition in the Pac-12 ranks. Head diving coach Richard Marschner remarked "This honor continues the momentum and excellence that has been building in our program and Connor's presence ensures that Utah will have a very strong diving squad moving into the future."

Cain competed in all three diving events at the Pac-12 championships, consisting of the one meter springboard, three meter springboard and platform. Cain accounted for 13 of Utah's total points in the meet, finishing 11th in both springboard events and 16th in the platform.

The complete list of Men's Pac-12 award winners are as follows:

Men's Swimmer of the Year: Ryan Murphy, California

Men's Swimming Freshman/Newcomer of the Year: Andrew Seliskar, California

Men's Swimming Coach of the Year: David Durden, California

Men's Diver of the Year: Rafael Quintero, Arizona

Men's Diving Freshman/Newcomer of the Year: Connor Cain, Utah

Men's Diving Coach of the Year: Hongping Li, USC